IARS Academic & Editorial Board

Shopping basket

Your shopping basket is empty.

IARS is committed to producing only high quality publications that conform to internationally accepted research rules and ethics. The IARS Academic & Editorial Board exists to act as a sounding board for IARS' publications, research projects and reports. Furthermore, the Board acts as an independent peer review panel for IARS' Publications' peer reviewed, international Youth Voice Journal. Within the Academic Board, there is a standing Research Ethics Committee which reviews IARS research ethics applications. To access the Research Ethics Application form click here.

To read the full Terms of Reference of the Academic & Editorial Board click here  If you would like to apply to join the Board, please click here




Editor-in-Chief & Chair of the Ethics Committee

Prof. Dr. Theo Gavrielides

IARS Director, Adjunct Professor Simon Fraser University (Canada), Visiting Professor Buckinghamshire New University (UK).


Hanin Khaddour 

Office Administrator & PA to the Director 

Independent Member 

Karen Miner-Romanoff, Ph.D., J.D.

Assistant Dean, Center for Academic Excellence and Support, New York University, USA

Independent member & Research Ethics

Prof. Dr John Winterdyk

Professor, Department of Justice Studies, Mount Royal University, Calgary, Canada

Independent member

Dr.Panagiotis Pentaris

Senior Lecturer, Department of Social Work and Integrated Care, Greenwich University (UK) and Lecturer for the Social, Therapeutic and Community Studies Department at Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Independent member

Prof. Dr. Gerry Johnstone

Professor of Law, University of Hull, Research Director, University of Hull Law School, Director, MA in Restorative Justice, UK

Independent member

Dr. Sabine Selchow

Civil Society and Human Security Research Unit, Department of International Development, LSE, UK

Independent member

Sinclair Coward

Senior Lecturer & Head of Academic Department of Social Work, Bucks New University, UK

Independent member

Prof. Dr. Margaret Greenfields

Professor in Social Policy, Buckinghamshire New University, UK

Independent member

Amanda Ariss

Executive Director, Creative Diversity Network, UK

Independent member

Dr. Loretta Trickett

Senior Lecturer, Nottingham Law School Nottingham Trent University, UK

Independent member

Dr. Sam King Lecturer in Criminology, University of Leicester, UK

Independent member

Prof. Sharon Everhardt

Assistant Professor of Sociology, Troy University, Montgomery Campus, USA

Independent member & Research Ethics Dr. Jason Schaub

Lecturer in Social Work, University of Birmingham, UK

Independent member Prof. Dr Howard Williamson CBE

Professor of European Youth Policy, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Faculty of Business and Society, University of South Wales, Wales, UK

Independent member Dr. Daniel Briggs

Faculty Member, European University of Madrid, Spain

Independent member Dr Pamela Ugwudike

Associate Professor in Criminology, Southampton University, UK 

Independent member Dr. Debarati Halder

Advocate & Managing Director of Centre for Cyber Victim Counselling (CCVC), Tirunelveli, India

Independent member  Dr. Darren Sharpe

Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Health and Human Development, University of East London, UK

Independent member

Dr. Neil Chakraborti

Head of Department, Department of Criminology, and Director, The Centre for Hate Studies, University of Leicester, UK

Independent member 

Prof. Jenny Harding 

Professor in Cultural Studies and Communications, London Metropolitan University, UK

Independent member  Prof. Vasiliki Brouskeli

Assistant Professor in Health Psychology, Department of Education Sciences in Early Childhood, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece

Independent member  Prof. Charles MacLean

Assistant Professor for the Department of Criminal Justice, Bemidji State University, USA